top of page

BAKED EGGS WITH CARAMELISED RED ONION & GOAT CHEESE

Updated: May 20, 2019



What to do when you find yourself with an over supply of eggs? I've made breakfast muffins, we had scrambled eggs for lunch and now I'm doing baked eggs for dinner. Goes without saying that I'm not one of those people who subscribe to the one egg a day rule. First time I had Baked Eggs my Mom made them for me when I was sick. A friend of mine, Dee of Deeliteful who is an amazing cook - she gives classes in Dublin by the way - had kindly gifted me a recipe book and they were one of our favourite recipes at the time. Now, if I had to choose my go-to weekend brunch / lunch / supper, eggs would probably feature and I'm pretty sure that baked eggs are one of my favourite ways to cook them. Just because they are so damn tasty and easy to make. The recipe can be changed up with different additions and toppings depending on what you fancy and on what ingredients you have to hand. I have a great recipe for Leek & Spinach Baked Eggs ready to go on the blog, but just need to make it once more to get a good picture of it. So in the meantime, I'm sharing today's recipe, which is for Baked Eggs with Caramelised Red Onion & Goat Cheese. I've been caramelising my red onions a lot lately, and WOW, they taste so good. It's a good habit to get into. Serve up your baked eggs on their own or with generously buttered brown bread. I've added some honey at the end but that's totally optional.

PS: I'm posting this Saturday evening, so anyone looking for a Sunday brunch option, this might be just the brunch for you. Keep scrolling for the recipe x


Baked Eggs with Caramelised Red Onion and Goat Cheese

Serves 4.

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil

1 knob butter

2 red onions

75g goat cheese

4 - 8 eggs*

1 tsp honey

Sea salt and black pepper to season

*If you are hungry and fancy a two egg serving, just add an extra egg to each dish.

Method

Preheat the oven to Gas 4 / 180C.

Half the onions length ways and cut them into thin slices. Heat the olive oil and butter in a large frying pan over a low heat. Add the onions with a pinch of sea salt and cook slowly for 20 minutes, stirring them occasionally. Once they become soft and a caramel colour, remove from the heat and set to one side.

Take four ramekins and divide the caramelised onions between them, lining the base of the ramekins with the onion. Next, add a layer of crumbled goats cheese to each ramekin. Break an egg into each ramekin. Depending on how hungry you are and on whether your ramekin is large enough for two, you can add a second egg. Place your ramekins on a baking tray and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, or until the eggs are set.

Remove from the oven and top with a drizzle of honey and some freshly grated black pepper. Serve straight away with an optional slice of buttered brown bread.

Enjoy xx




Baked Eggs

Comments


bottom of page