top of page

GREEN PROTEIN SMOOTHIE



Happy Friday. You guys know I don't do liquid diets and juice detoxes. But you also know, I also love green juices and smoothies and usually have at least one a day along with my regular food. I love leafy greens and I also think they are something we should all be eating more of. I remember when I first started making green smoothies, I threw everything and anything in to them and usually ended up with a pretty funky tasting and calorific concoction. I've become much more selective since then.. phew. I still like to mix and match what I put into smoothies but for everyday, I like to keep it on the healthy side of healthy ;) and I'm currently loving this combo of spinach, hemp protein, grapefruit and almond milk.

Recently I've been wondering whether I'm eating enough protein and decided to track my nutrient intake for a few days using the My Fitness Pal app. I'm not one for weighing out portions and counting calories on a daily basis; but I think it's really good (every so often) to track what you are eating over a couple of days. I like to call it a little calorie and nutrient audit; it just reminds me of what proper portion sizes are and which foods are rich in which nutrients. I'm in the middle of one at the moment and I noticed I've been a little low on protein over the past few days. Hence the addition of hemp protein powder to my morning smoothie routine. I'm usually not one for protein powders, but this one is really natural, it's unflavoured and it's vegan.

Note; I'm used to the taste of green vegetable smoothies and juices so this one is no bother to me at all. However, if you aren't you might want to add a little extra fruit to this to make it more palatable, at least until you get used to the leafy green taste. This recipe serves 1-2 portions.

Keep scrolling for the recipe....



Ingredients

1.5 cups almond milk, unsweetened

1 large handfuls of spinach

4 tsp hemp protein powder

Half a grapefruit

Method

Add all the ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth. Drink straight away or keep in the fridge for up to 24 hours.




bottom of page