top of page

HOMEMADE RASPBERRY FROZEN YOGURT

Updated: May 19, 2019



Homemade Raspberry Frozen Yogurt

As the saying goes... always have something delicious in the freezer for when the warm weather strikes (this may or may not be an actual saying). In Ireland the sun shines so sporadically, it pays to be prepared and if you are anything like me, once the temperature hits the late teens, cool drinks and frozen treats are a must.

There's a great Irish brand of frozen dessert that I'm partial too. But I wanted to try my hand at making my own homemade frozen creations and I've started today with this delicious Homemade Raspberry Frozen Yogurt. Safe to say there is always a tub of Greek yogurt in my fridge and a bag of frozen berries in my freezer, so FRO-YO is the obvious next step. Add some maple syrup for sweetness, blend and freeze. My motto when it comes to food is that the simplest of combos are the best and with just three ingredients, this recipe is the perfect example of this.

If you are a total disaster in the kitchen, not to worry. You literally can't go wrong with this. The blender does all the work for you. It doesn't matter what type of blender you have, any will work. I use my Vitamix and I have to be honest and say that it is one of my all time favourite possessions. I was laughing with another proud 'Vitamix Mom' the other day and we decided that in a house fire, after close family members and pets, the Vitamix would be next in line for saving. It's pricey, but if you are big into blending (hands up) and use it every single day it may well be worth the investment.

Just a word on Greek yogurt. It's great in smoothies, for snacks and for making healthy-ish desserts. It's tangy, creamy, low in sugar and high in protein. I always choose plain and flavour it myself. For this recipe, I use zero fat yogurt, but you can sub in full fat if you prefer.

Now get yourself to your blender and get 'fro-yo'ing'. Keep scrolling for the perfect summer treat recipe xx


Ingredients

(Serves 4-6)

300g Greek yogurt (zero fat)

300g frozen raspberries

125ml maple syrup

Fresh berries and mint leaves to serve

Method

Place all the ingredients in a blender and blend until combined and creamy.

Place in a container and freeze until ready to serve.

To serve, scoop into dessert glasses and add a fresh mint leave and fresh berries.



Comments


bottom of page