top of page

CAULIFLOWER & GREEN CHILLI SOUP WITH A CHEESY CRUMB


Cauliflower & Green Chilli Soup

I'm writing next Monday's recipe and posting it to the blog this week as I'm taking some time away. In other words, I don't want to bring my laptop and I haven't figured out how to schedule posts properly. Also, I'm not a very organised blog writer and I don't have a bank of recipes on hand to use I'm stuck for one. I usually cook my dish a few times and then cook it one final time, photograph it and put it on the blog on a Monday. Some Mondays I'll be found editing images and finalising the recipe right up until I press publish. But not today. I've made, photographed and written up this recipe in advance, all ready to press publish. Yay to organisation.

It's soup season and that means I'll be making cauliflower soup fifty per cent of the time I make soup. I'm a big fan of frozen vegetables and soup is the ideal thing to make with it. This means that you don't have to make sure to have fresh cauliflower to hand and even if you do there's no danger of it going bad if you forget about it for a few days before remembering to make this soup. I've added finely chopped green chilli for extra flavour and a mild heat. It's also a way to use up those pesky green chillies that come in the same pack as the red chillies and always seem to be leftover. I'm guessing these go unused in many a household.

I've topped this soup with a cheesy crumb which is made from pan fried breadcrumbs, grated cheddar and sea salt. It's highly addictive. You have been warned. It's not essential to the soup, but very much recommended. It takes a few minutes to prepare and is worth the extra washing up.

Keep scrolling for my recipe for this Cauliflower and Green Chilli Soup with a Cheesy Crumb.

Cauliflower Soup

Cauliflower & Green Chilli Soup with a Cheesy Crumb


Serves 4-6


Ingredients


2 tbsp olive oil

1 white onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, crushed

1 green chilli, deseeded and finely chopped

1 tbsp ground cumin

1 kg cauliflower florets (frozen)

2 litres vegetable stock

Sea salt and black pepper to season


For the cheesy crumb

2 tsp olive oil

3 tbsp breadcrumbs

3 tbsp grated cheddar

Sea salt


Method


Put the oil in a large saucepan on a medium heat. Add the onions and fry for 5 minutes stirring frequently until they turn translucent. Add the garlic and ground cumin and fry for another minute. Add the frozen cauliflower florets and a decent pinch of salt and allow to cook for another few minutes.


Pour in the vegetable stock and turn up the heat to bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook for about 25 minutes or until the cauliflower is soft. Remove from the heat and use a blender or liquidiser to blitz into a smooth soup. Taste and season with sea salt and black pepper as desired.


To make the cheesy crumb, panfry the breadcrumbs, heat the olive oil on a pan. Add the breadcrumbs, cheddar and sea salt to the pan and fry, continuously stirring until the cheese melts and the breadcrumbs brown. This should only take a few minutes.


To serves, spoon the soup into bowls and top with a little olive oil and the cheesy crumb.

Image of Cauliflower Soup

Comments


bottom of page