top of page

A HOMEMADE SPICED TEA FOR CRISP AUTUMN DAYS



It has been a busy but good September so far. I’ve been up and down to Dublin more times than I can keep track off, for work commitments, to meet with friends and with the odd hospital appointment thrown in for good measure. I was at the Ploughing earlier this week and then played catch up for the past few days. I also started the task of rearranging my wardrobe, packing away summer clothes I want to keep for next year and dropping the rest to the charity shop. I've dusted off my winter sweaters and I feel like I'm willing it cold before it's due.

And it's this desire for cooler weather that has me writing today's blog post; a post especially for those of you who find comfort on crisp days in a warm cup of tea. Making tea from scratch is something I do sporadically; enjoying it when I do, but always ensuring I have a well stocked tea cupboard for the many days when making it myself just doesn't fit in the schedule. Making tea from scratch isn't just about the end creation; there is a thoughtfulness and consideration to taking the time to make your own tea. From the very first sip of this tea, it warms your soul. There is something quite satisfying about curling up on the sofa to drink a beautiful cup of your very own creation.

With this in mind, today, I'm sharing with you my favourite homemade tea recipe. If you are curious to make your own tea from scratch, this is a good place to start. I absolutely cannot take credit for this recipe; it's the well known yoga tea recipe which many of you may already know. The recipe calls for cloves, peppercorns, cinnamon, cardamom and ginger. It sounds like a lot of ingredients, but they all play their part and work beautifully together. The smell of the spice will warm you up before the tea even hits your lips. The added bonus is the Autumnal aroma that will fill your home.

This is a tea for those of us who like to curl up under a blanket on Autumn evenings (or mornings for that matter), cup in hands. Nothing wild or exciting to see here but yet there is something deeply satisfying to drinking the fruits of your own labour!


Ingredients

2 litres of water

20 whole cloves

20 whole peppercorns

3 sticks of cinnamon

20 whole cardamom pods

2 inches ginger, cut into thin slices

1 tsp black tea leaves

Honey to taste and thin lemon slices to serve.

Method

Add two litres of boiling water to a large pot along with the cloves and allow to boil for 2 minutes.

Add the peppercorns, cinnamon, cardamom pods and ginger, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove from the heat and stir in the black tea leaves. Strain through a sieve and serve. Sweeten with a little honey and add a thin slice of lemon to each cup if desired.



bottom of page