top of page

BOOK CLUB: BIG LITTLE LIES BY LIANE MORIARTY



Book Club: Big Little Lies

I cannot believe it's Monday again and what better way to make ourselves feel better on a rainy Monday than with a new book club recommendation. Plus with Easter holidays around the corner, I thought people might be looking for a good book to get stuck into. I read Big Little Lies last week and I could not put it down! I finished it in four days. It's the kind of book you carry around with you so you can nab a read of a few pages at every opportunity.

I hadn't heard of this book before the HBO mini-series Big Little Lies starting showing on Sky Atlantic a few weeks back. I've been watching it religiously and I love it. The TV series is set in California and stars Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman and Shailene Woodley. It is so good and I just adore Reese Witherspoon in it.

I have a total affliction of not being able to pass a book shop or be in an airport without buying a book. I went to collect my brother and niece from the airport last Tuesday night and of course while I was waiting for them in arrivals I found myself in the book shop. Another affliction of mine is impatience and not being able to wait for the story line to play out on TV, I bought the Big Little Lies book by Liane Moriarty. I started reading it Wednesday and finished it Saturday; that's how good it is.

Before I even started reading this book, I was excited about it. It's a "what happened" / "who done it" page turner. We find out at the start of the book that someone is dead and it happened at a school fund raising night. We don't know who or how. We then go back in time to six months prior to the night to meet the three main characters of the novel: Madeline, a remarried mother of three whose ex-husband and his new partner have a child in the same class as her daughter Chloe; Celeste, who is described as incredibly beautiful and who is married to a successful business man, with whom she has twin boys, also in the same kindergarten class; and Jane, a young single mother to Ziggy, who you guessed it, is also in the same class. The three develop a friendship and the story moves from there. While the mini series is set in California, the book is set in a beach town outside Sydney.

It's a total page turner of book; it's not particularly deep and I don't think it's the type of book that will hold special meaning for many people. But I'm pretty sure that you will thoroughly enjoy reading it and I hazard a bet you won't be able to put it down. I can't wait to watch the rest of the TV series to see how they deal with the story. Enjoy and if you have read the book or are going to, I'd love to hear what you think of it; just pop a comment in the comments section below.

xx

bottom of page